JOINT TRAFFIC WORKING GROUP

Terms of Reference

Halberton, Sampford Peverell, Uffculme and Willand Parish Council has formed the Joint Traffic Working Group to assess the speed limits, traffic problems and highways issues in the parishes and to formulate proposals as to how improve safety for pedestrians and other road users.

Membership of the committee

Councillor Ian Batchelor – Chair, Halberton Parish Council
Councillor Patricia Blackman – Chair, Uffculme Parish Council
Councillor Tim Burt – Chair, Sampford Peverell Parish Council
Councillor Rob Furm9edge – Vice-Chair, Halberton Parish Council
Councillor Keith Grantham – Willand Parish Council
Councillor Sue Leach – Willand Parish Council
Councillor Phil Cornish – Uffculme Parish Council
Councillor Jason Scott – Willand Parish Council

Susan McGeever – as Clerk for Halberton Parish Council

Objective of the Committee

To improve speed limits, traffic conditions and road safety for all users.

Note:

The Traffic Working Group Committee cannot make non-delegated decisions or spend any money on behalf of the Parish Councils involved. Any recommendations put forward will be subject to approval by Full Councils.

Reporting to Council

Representatives will formally report to their Full Councils at the regular monthly meetings. The aim being to inform of progress and raise points that need Full Council approval. Informal updates by any members of the Committee to Councillors can take place at any time.

Delegated Decision making

The Full Councils have delegated the administration of the committee to committee members together with the power to carry out surveys, organise petitions and gather information that will assist in meeting the objectives of the committee.